Roasted Butternut Squash Soup – Halloween special

A quick post for a quick recipe – I bought a couple of huge butternut squashes recently only for my husband to tell me he doesn’t really like it much! So I roasted one off with a few other vegetables and served it with some fish first off and used what was left for my lunches the rest of the week. However the other one floated around to the kitchen for a few days before I started formulating an idea in my head. It looked just like a minion to me so decided to carve it for Halloween to go alongside our traditional pumpkin.

image image

I didn’t want to waste the flesh though so I thought a super quick roasted butternut squash soup was the best thing to do with it.

I cut off the top and used a melon baller and an apple corer to remove as much of the flesh as I could. I’m afraid I discarded the seeds but you can wash these and roast them then stir in a teaspoon of marmite too for a tasty snack.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Scooped out flesh of 1 large butternut squash

2 small onions

1 garlic clove

1-2 pints vegetable stock.

Once you have carved your squash use all the left over flesh as well as the flesh you scooped out to start with.

Put it in a roasting tin with the onions which have been peeled and quartered and a large clove of garlic also peeled.

image

Roast at 180C for around half an hour until the onions have started to brown on the edges.

image

Transfer to a food processor and add 1 pint of vegetable stock.

image

Whizz until smooth. Add more stock to get to the desired consistency. Season to taste.

Serve with a swirl of cream and a sprinkle of paprika – and don’t forget to share with your minion!

image

2 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash Soup – Halloween special

Leave a Reply

