Carrot Bundt Cake

IMG_9751
I have just been on a lovely weekend away in Bath with some girlfriends. We stayed in a super flat right in the centre and catered for ourselves. In the run up to the weekend one close friend dubbed us all ‘queens of over catering’ and she was quite right! so in true PTA event style, (we all met through our kids at school) lists of who was to bring what were distributed. Everyone needed to bring wine and chocolate, and my personal contribution was a cake!
IMG_9756

So what to make that travels well and would appeal to 10 women – on the basis that we were all taking chocolate anyway I decided against anything chocolately. A bundt was definitely the easiest thing to make, they always look fab just because of the moulds, they cut really well, they last well and don’t have an abundance of filling which I find isn’t always popular. I got into my head that carrot cake would be nice and went off in search of a suitable recipe but couldn’t find one that seemed to fit the bill. Bundt cakes need to be quite firm to hold the shape of the mould and usual carrot cakes are often quite crumbly.

Nothing else for it – I had to wing it a bit so I took my red velvet recipe swapped a few things, threw in a few grated carrots and hey presto! My girlfriends all said they enjoyed it and asked for the recipe. I don’t go a bundle on dried fruit so it is currant and raisinless and wasn’t sure if everyone liked nuts so I kept them for decoration – however if you like either ingredient in your carrot cake just add them when the grated carrot goes in about 100g of either would be about right.

As a final note I would like to mention that I may have popped into Kitchen Cookshop whilst in Bath, its the most fabulous kitchen ware shop and sells online too. I bought yet another (smaller) Nordicware bundt tin so watch this space for more bundt recipes!

IMG_9760

Carrot Bundt Cake Recipe

• 225g butter

• 350g soft dark brown sugar

• 4 medium eggs

• 350g plain flour

• 1 tsp ground cinnamon

• 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

• 1/2 tsp salt

• 250ml buttermilk

• 200g finely grated carrot

Grease and flour the tin or use a cake release spray, try not to over do it but enure all the nooks and crannies are covered! Preheat the oven to 160C (fan) Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time and mix well between each addition until fully incorporated.

In a separate bowl hand whisk together the flour ground cinnamon & bicarbonate of soda. In another bowl mix together the buttermilk & grated carrots.

Add 1/3rd flour mix and half the buttermilk, fold in carefully. Repeat, then finally add the last of the flour. Fold in then beat briefly to get a smooth batter.

Fill the tin no more than 3/4s full. I use a Nordicware jubilee tin which is a 10 cup pan. Bake the bundt for 1hr to 1hr 10mins or until a long skewer comes out clean and the cake has shrink from the edges slightly. Leave to cool in the tin for at least 10/15mins before you try to unmould it. I find that if I over flour some residue is left on the edges of the cake but brushing with a sugar syrup helps seal the cake and get rid of the flour spots. I use a 1 part sugar to 2 parts water mix , dissolved and boil for 5 mins until just starting to change colour. Brush on with a pastry brush.

IMG_9738

For the final cream cheese glaze combine 100g cream cheese and100 g icing sugar with 1 tsp lemon juice and 1/2tsp of vanilla extract. Add up to 3 tablespoons of milk until you achieve a double cream type consistency. Drizzle over the cake and brush all over to cover. I finshed my cake off with some chopped pecans and candied carrot curls. The carrot curls were quite fiddley but i love using more natural ingredients to decorate where possible – I found the recipe here on an old blog post by Cupcake Project

IMG_9763

Leave a Reply

