Red velvet bundt

image

I originally made this bundt recipe back in May 2014 for The Sunday Baking Club tweetup as it was Claires birthday, one of the lovely ladies that organises the bake club each week. The idea behind bake club is to try to bake new things each week so I chose red velvet as I had never made one, the jubilee bundt tin from Nordicware was a new favourite of mine and a number of other Bake club members have also bought bundt tins on the strength of my enthusiasm. I have previously followed recipes from Dolly bakes blog http://www.dollybakes.co.uk/2012/10/BuildaBundt28.html and they work really well but Dolly hadn’t blogged a recipe for a red velvet version so I needed to try and adapt her basic recipe. My first try didn’t go according to plan, most of the recipes I found were American, at best showing measurements in cups and at worst suggesting a box of red velvet cake mix. So my test bake was nothing short of a disaster – over rising, sinking and generally covering the oven in cake. It didn’t even taste all that great quite soapy due to an excess of bicarbonate of soda! Of course this is why I did a test bake, knowing this cake was to be eaten by my baking buddies and Kimberley Wilson From the Great British Bake Off was frankly terrifying, things could only get better! Since then I know the recipe has been used by lots of my Sunday Bake Club buddies and is always a firm favourite in our house too so when this weeks theme was to bake a cake you love I immediately thought of this one. The other beauty of bundts is that they mature well and are often nicer a day or two later – this one had to be brought on our annual family skiing trip and was supposed to last at least a few days – it has of course been decimated first day here! This recipe fills a Nordicware jubilee bundt tin.

Red Velvet Bundt

• 225g butter

• 450g golden caster sugar

• 4 medium eggs

• 320g plain flour

• 30g cocoa powder

• 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

• 1/2 tsp salt

• 1 ½ tsp white wine vinegar

• 250ml buttermilk

• 1 tsp vanilla extract

• red food colouring

Grease and flour the tin or use a cake release spray, try not to over do it but enure all the nooks and crannies are covered! Preheat the oven to 160C (fan) Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy Add the eggs one at a time and mix well between each addition until fully incorporated.

In a separate bowl hand whisk together the flour cocoa powder bicarbonate of soda and salt. In another bowl mix together the buttermilk, vinegar, vanilla extract and some food colouring. It is impossible to give exact food colouring measurements as they all vary in strength. I used 1level tsp of Sugarcraft ruby paste. You need a strong colour with out being too lurid.

Add 1/3rd flour mix and half the buttermilk, fold in carefully. Repeat, then finally add the last of the flour. Fold in then beat briefly to get a smooth batter.

Fill the tin no more than 3/4s full. You will probably have a little batter over to make a couple of cupcakes. Cook these at 175C in a separate oven for 20-25mins – you don’t want to open the oven door to the bundt half way through its baking time. Bake the bundt for 1hr to 1hr 15mins or until a long skewer comes out clean and the cake has shrunk from the edges slightly. Leave to cool in the tin for at least 10/15mins before you try to unmould it. I find that if I over flour some residue is left on the edges of the cake but brushing with a sugar syrup helps seal the cake and get rid of the flour spots. I use a 1 part sugar to 2 parts water mix , dissolved and boil for 5 mins until just starting to change colour. Brush on with a pastry brush.

For the final cream cheese glaze combine 100g cream cheese and100 g icing sugar with 1 tsp lemon juice in a food processor. Add up to 3 tablespoons of milk until you achieve a double cream type consistency. Drizzle over the cake and brush all over to cover. I finshed my cake off with some fondant hearts and glitter but crumbled cupcake works just as well.

IMG_9532

Top tip!

I also have the smaller 6 cup Anniversay pan – just halve the ingredients and it fits this time perfectly!

9 thoughts on “Red velvet bundt

  1. I remember this been the 1st Bundt I’d really seen, I promptly bought the Jubilee tin to try this recipe. I have to admit, I’ve tried several Red Velvet cake recipes and this is by far the best.
    I now hold you responbile for my 25+ Bundt tin collection Becky 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

